/ vs
Eleven uptime monitoring tools next to Fettle Plus and Fettle Max — prices, check intervals, the check model each one runs, and what each vendor does and doesn't publish. Fettle checks a monitor from every region you select, each interval, rather than rotating through one location at a time; several of the tools below run a larger location pool than we do, and the table says so plainly.
| Tool | 50 monitors, $/mo billed yearly | Shortest interval on that plan | Cheapest plan with 30-second checks | Check model | Location pool | Locations used per interval | Status pages | Heartbeat / cron monitoring | Integrations | REST API | History retention |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fettle Plus | $7Plus, billed yearly — 50 monitors | 60 seconds | $31on Max | Fan-outevery selected region checks the monitor every interval | 3eu-central, us-east, ap-southeast | 2the Plus ceiling | 1 | 20 | 5 typesemail, Telegram, webhook, Slack, Discord | On every plan, including free30 to 300 requests per minute by tier | 90 days |
| Fettle Max | $31billed yearly — includes 300 monitors | 30 seconds | This plan | Fan-outevery selected region checks the monitor every interval | 3eu-central, us-east, ap-southeast | 3all of them | 10 | 150 | 5 typesemail, Telegram, webhook, Slack, Discord | On every plan, including free30 to 300 requests per minute by tier | 365 days |
| UptimeRobot | $0 on Free, $19 on Solothe Free plan covers 50 monitors at a 5-minute interval; Solo's 50-monitor step, reached with the Monitor tier toggle, is $19/mo billed annually and $22 billed monthly, and checks every 60 seconds | 60 secondson Solo; the Free plan checks every 5 minutes, and Scale reaches a 15-second floor at $65/mo billed annually ($77 monthly) for 200 monitors — that figure comes from the pricing widget's props, not the page text | Team, $35100 monitors, billed annually; $41 billed monthly | Rotationeach check runs from one region, and checks cycle through the selected regions in order; a confirmation re-check stays in that same region | 4North America, Europe, Asia, Australia | 1there is no quorum — one region's failed and retried check marks the monitor down | 1 / 3 / 100 / unlimitedFree / Solo / Team / Scale | On paid plansFree excludes heartbeat monitoring; it starts on Solo, and no per-plan cap is printed | 5 / 9 / 12 / 12Free / Solo / Team / Scale | On every plan, including Freethe platform API that manages monitors and incidents; API monitoring, a monitor type, is a separate feature that starts on Solo. They also publish an MCP server, in their top navigation, whose write actions create, update, pause and resume monitors — which plans carry it is not stated | 3 / 12 / 24 / 24 monthsFree / Solo / Team / Scale |
| Pingdom | $71.50billed annually: a bundle of 50 uptime checks, 10 advanced checks and 200 SMS, $858/yr; $78 billed monthly | 1 minutethe check-interval slider does not go below one minuteCaptured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site. | Not offeredno plan checks more often than once a minuteCaptured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site. | One location per checkthe Test from control is a set of radio buttons, not checkboxesCaptured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site. | 4 groupsNorth America, Europe, Asia Pacific, Latin AmericaCaptured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site. | 1Captured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site. | Includedthe number is not stated | Not published | Not published | Yesthe pricing page's own footer links Pingdom's API documentation; which plans include it is not printed | Not publishedno retention figure is printed for Synthetic Monitoring; the 13 months on the same page belongs to Real User Monitoring |
| Better Stack | $50billed annually: $29 per responder licence, which carries 10 monitors, plus $21 for a pack of 50 more; a second responder adds another $29, and the monthly-billed rates are $34 and $25 | 30 secondspublished as the check-frequency ceiling; the page names no uptime tiers | $29one responder licence, billed annually, which covers 10 monitors; $34 billed monthly | Fan-out with consensusevery monitor is checked from at least 4 locations, and an incident opens only after the check fails from at least 3 of them | Not publishedno total location count is printed on their pricing page or in their uptime documentation | At least 4an incident opens after a failure from at least 3 of them | 1 included, $12/mo for each further one | 10 included, $17/mo per pack of 10 | Allthe number is not printed | Yes | Not published |
| StatusCake | $20.41Superior, billed annually, which covers 100 monitors; $24.49 billed monthly | 60 secondson Superior | Business, $66.66300 monitors, billed annually; $79.99 billed monthly | Rotationwhen no region is pinned, a server is picked at random from any monitoring region for the initial test; confirmation tests come from other servers in that same region | 43 locations in 30 countriesStatusCake print the count themselves, and repeat it in their monitoring FAQ | 1the confirmation test stays inside the region that ran the initial test | Not publishedthe pricing grid prints no count; the product does have status pages | Not publishedtheir pricing grid says nothing about heartbeat or cron monitoring either way | 15+ | Yesdocumented; which plans include it is not printed | Not published |
| Hyperping | $24Essentials, billed yearly, which covers 50 monitors; $29 billed monthly | 30 secondson Essentials; Business goes to 20 seconds | Essentials, $2450 monitors, billed yearly | Rotation with confirmationchecks rotate through the selected regions one region at a time per minute, and a failure is immediately double-checked from the other selected regions | 1818 datacenter regions across 7 global zones, the same count on every plan including the free one | 1 | 1on Essentials; the grid is 1 / 1 / 3 / 10 across Free, Essentials, Pro and Business | Yes | Slack, Teams, Opsgenie, PagerDuty and others | On every paid planplus a first-party MCP server at api.hyperping.io/v1/mcp, documented as 22 read and 4 write tools — including create_monitor and update_monitor. delete_monitor is deliberately not exposed | Not publishedno uptime-history retention is printed per plan; the 7-day figure on the pricing page is the server-metrics window under server monitoring |
| Cronitor | $100 by our own arithmeticCronitor publish no bundle price: Business is $2 a month per monitor plus $5 a month per user, billed monthly on actual usage, and they advertise volume discounts without printing them. 50 × $2 is ours to compute — it excludes the per-user fee and any discount, so their real invoice for 50 monitors is not this numberCronitor does not print this figure; it is our own, worked out from what they do publish. | 30 secondson Business; the free Hacker plan's floor is 5 minutes and Enterprise reaches 5 seconds | $2 per monitorthe Business rate, and Business is the plan a 30-second interval requires — the free Hacker plan stops at 5 minutes | Not publishedthe only statement is that downtime is verified by at least one additional region before an alert, which describes a fan-out and a rotation equally well | 12+eleven nodes are named in the docs; up to 12 selectable per check | Not publishedthe vendor states only that a failure is confirmed from one more region | 1 basic; branded $25/mo, private $50/mo | Core of the productno cap on Business, where each heartbeat bills as a monitor at $2/mo; the Hacker plan caps at 5 | 10 | Yesunlimited API requests | 12 months |
| Checkly | $24Starter, billed annually, which covers 50 monitors; a further 25 cost $8 | 60 secondson Starter; Hobby is 2 minutes, Team 30 seconds and Enterprise 1 second | Team, $6475 monitors, billed annually | Rotation by default, fan-out optionalround robin by default — one selected location per scheduled run; parallel mode runs every selected location and bills a check run for each | 6 on Hobby and Starter, 22 on Team and aboveat most 3 per check on Hobby and Starter; their locations page lists 26 public locations, more than the 22 the pricing grid names | 1 by default, up to 3 or 22 in parallel mode | Add-on at $9/mo: 25 services, 500 subscriberson Starter, billed annually; the add-on is $30/mo on Team | Yescron and heartbeat checks | Email, Slack and webhooks on every plan; SMS from Starter, phone calls from TeamStarter includes 100 SMS a month, Team 200 | Yesplus a CLI and an MCP server | 7 days raw, 30 days aggregatedon Starter |
| Site24x7 | Not independently verifiedNot independently verified — we found $27 — a sum of two published figures, not a published price: Web Uptime is $9/mo paid annually and covers 25 sites, and the “50 Uptime monitors $18” add-on is printed only under “Rates per month”, with no annual rate given for it — so an annual buyer may well pay less than $27; confirm before deciding. | 60 secondson Web Uptime | Enterprise Plus Web, $8992500 sites, paid annually; $999 billed monthly | One primary location, plus rechecksonly one location is polled at the configured frequency; if a site looks unavailable from it, further checks run from other locations | 32 on Web Uptimeout of a network they advertise as “more than 130+ monitoring locations”; the Web Uptime row prints a primary location and no secondary poll frequency, while Web Performance shows 8 and Enterprise Plus Web 16 | 1only one location is polled at the configured frequency; their grid leaves the secondary poll frequency blank for Web Uptime and prints it for the plans above | 3 on Web Uptime, 10 on Web Performance | Yeseach heartbeat monitor gets its own ping URL; the row sits on their infrastructure line, not in the Website Monitoring grid | Third-party integrationsthe number is not printed | Not on Web Uptimetheir API access row is blank for Web Uptime, the pack at the compared price; Web Performance gets 200 calls per day per monitor and Enterprise Plus Web 300 | 2 years on Web Uptime, 3 years on Web Performance5 years on Enterprise Plus Web |
| Uptime.com | $30the 50-check tier, billed yearly at $360 — $38/mo billed monthly. Their pricing page shows a calculator rather than a table, so the figure is read from the tier table the calculator itself uses, which ships inline in the page source | 60 secondsone minute is the floor on every tier; HTTP(S) checks run from 1 to 60 minutes | Not offeredtheir documentation puts the minimum check frequency at one minute | Fan-out with a Sensitivity thresholdat each interval the check runs from every location selected; a Sensitivity threshold sets how many of them must fail for the check to count as down, and they recommend monitoring from at least three locations | 12 included, up to 106 as a paid add-onprobe locations are a separate module on their pricing page, and the ladder is published: 12 locations with 3 per check at no charge, 86 locations with 5 per check at $360/yr ($38/mo), and 106 locations with 15 per check at $660/yr ($69/mo). Like the monitoring prices, the figures come from the tier table the calculator ships inline in the page sourceUptime.com states this differently in different places: their homepage puts the same network at “80+ Global Monitoring Points of Presence”. | Every selected locationhow many must fail is set by the Sensitivity threshold; their worked example uses 4 locations and a sensitivity of 2. How many a single check may select is capped by the probe-locations module — 3 per check on the free tier, 5 and 15 on the paid ones | From $10/mo for 1 page and 250 subscribers$120/yr billed annually, the same basis as the price column; $13/mo billed monthly. A separate purchase from monitoring, on a ladder running to 100 pages and 150,000 subscribers. Like the monitoring prices, the figures come from the tier table in the pricing page source | Yes | 20+ | Yes | 24 months |
| Oh Dear | €124.17Agency, which covers 50 sites, is €149 a month billed monthly; their page gives two months free on annual billing, which is the figure here. Their prices are published in euros ex. VAT and we do not convert them — every other price in this table is a dollar figure the vendor prints itself | 60 secondsuptime checks happen every minute from the primary location; there is no shorter one | Not offeredone minute is the published floor | One primary location, plus verificationwhen the primary location detects a problem, a secondary one verifies it; the secondary is chosen at random, preferring the primary's continent | 18their docs name every check location, from Cape Town and Bangalore to San Francisco | 1a second location joins in only to verify a failure | Included on every plan | Yesscheduled-task monitoring | All the third-party onesthe number is not printed | Yesdescribed as a full-blown API. Every feature is on every plan — their tiers differ only in how many sites they cover | Not publishedneither their pricing page nor their uptime documentation states a retention period |
| HetrixTools | Not independently verifiedNot independently verified — we found $19.95 — Business, which covers 60 monitors — unverified, and on an unstated billing basis: their pricing page answers automated readers with a 403, so neither this figure nor the five others taken from that page can be checked; confirm before deciding. | Not independently verifiedNot independently verified — we found 60 seconds; confirm before deciding. | Not publishedno reachable page states whether a sub-minute interval exists; their pricing page answers automated readers with a 403 and their documentation does not cover check frequency | Fan-outtheir system checks the online status from multiple locations simultaneously, across 12 monitoring locations | Not independently verifiedNot independently verified — we found 4 / 6 / 9 / 12 — by plan; the ceiling of 12 is confirmed on their uptime-monitor page, but the per-plan split sits on the pricing page and could not be read; confirm before deciding. | Every selected locationtheir page states checks run from multiple locations simultaneously, across 12 monitoring locations; how many a single check uses is not printed | Not independently verifiedNot independently verified — we found Unlimited on every plan; confirm before deciding. | Yesa dedicated Heartbeat Monitor type, with cron-string schedules, a time zone and a grace period | Email, SMS and 20+ integrationstheir own count, on a page that is readable; the per-plan split is not | Not independently verifiedNot independently verified — we found Yes — call quota by plan: 1k / 10k / 20k / 50k; confirm before deciding. | Not independently verifiedNot independently verified — we found Activity log 15 / 30 / 60 / 90 days — by plan; confirm before deciding. |
Pingdom sells uptime checks in bundles, not per-monitor tiers. Here is what 50 monitors cost on each, and where each one is the better fit.
UptimeRobot prices by monitor count across four plans, Free through Scale. Here is how the two ladders compare on density, regions, and history.
Better Stack prices per responder licence and bundles logs, traces and on-call into one product. Here is how the two ladders and check models compare.
StatusCake bundles page-speed, domain and SSL monitors into one plan; Fettle checks every region before an incident opens. Here is the trade-off.
Hyperping beats us on price at 30-second checks. Here is that trade, plus where our fan-out check model and REST API pull ahead.
Competitor prices and figures above were verified on 2026-08-25 against each vendor's own pages, or, where noted in the table, captured inside their product. Vendors change prices without notice — check theirs before deciding.