/ vs / pingdom
Fettle vs Pingdom
Pingdom sells uptime checks in bundles, not per-monitor tiers. Here is what 50 monitors cost on each, and where each one is the better fit.
Choose Pingdom if
- you want real-user monitoring available as an add-on inside the same Pingdom account and billing as your uptime checks
- you want a product sold and supported under SolarWinds' commercial terms
- you need page-speed monitoring and transaction scenarios out of the box
- you need unlimited seats and maintenance windows without an add-on
Choose Fettle if
- you want 50 monitors for $7 a month billed yearly, where the Pingdom bundle that covers 50 is $71.50
- you want 30-second checks on Max, where Pingdom's check-interval slider stopped at one minute when we read it inside their product on 2026-08-25
- you want every region you select to check the monitor each interval, where Pingdom's Test from control, read inside their product on 2026-08-25, picks one location
- you want an AI agent to set your monitoring up for you: Fettle ships an MCP server, on every plan, including free
Fettle and Pingdom, side by side
| Metric | Fettle | Pingdom |
|---|---|---|
| 50 monitors, $/mo billed yearly | $7Plus, billed yearly — 50 monitors | $71.50billed annually: a bundle of 50 uptime checks, 10 advanced checks and 200 SMS, $858/yr; $78 billed monthly |
| Shortest interval on that plan | 60 secondsPlus and Pro; 30 seconds on Max | 1 minutethe check-interval slider does not go below one minuteCaptured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site. |
| Cheapest plan with 30-second checks | $31Max, billed yearly — 300 monitors | Not offeredno plan checks more often than once a minuteCaptured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site. |
| Check model | Fan-outevery selected region checks the monitor every interval | One location per checkthe Test from control is a set of radio buttons, not checkboxesCaptured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site. |
| Location pool | 3eu-central, us-east, ap-southeast | 4 groupsNorth America, Europe, Asia Pacific, Latin AmericaCaptured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site. |
| Locations used per interval | 2 on Plus, 3 on Pro and Maxevery selected region must fail before an incident opens — unanimity, not majority — confirmed over 2 consecutive check cycles by default | 1Captured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site. |
| Status pages | 1 / 3 / 10Plus / Pro / Max | Includedthe number is not stated |
| Heartbeat / cron monitoring | 20 / 50 / 150Plus / Pro / Max; 3 on the free plan | Not published |
| Integrations | 5 typesemail, Telegram, webhook, Slack, Discord | Not published |
| REST API | On every plan, including free30 to 300 requests per minute by tier | Yesthe pricing page's own footer links Pingdom's API documentation; which plans include it is not printed |
| History retention | 90 / 180 / 365 daysPlus / Pro / Max | Not publishedno retention figure is printed for Synthetic Monitoring; the 13 months on the same page belongs to Real User Monitoring |
What 50 monitors cost on each
Both columns are the monthly rate a buyer pays when billed for a year.
| Monitors | Fettle | Pingdom |
|---|---|---|
| 50 | Plus, $7 | $71.50 |
| 100 | Pro, $15 | $136.42 |
| 300 | Max, $31 | $386.17 |
Pingdom's figures are the totals its own bundle calculator prints, and every rung of that calculator ships in the served pricing page's own option data — all three were read there on 2026-08-25.
The smallest bundle Pingdom sells
Pingdom's smallest bundle is 10 uptime checks at $16.50 a month billed annually, read from the same calculator. Fettle Pro is $15 a month billed yearly and carries 100 monitors.
Divide each of those bundle prices by the number of uptime checks the bundle carries and the cost per monitored endpoint falls by about 22% between the 10-check bundle and the 300-check one — ours, not Pingdom's: $16.50 over 10 uptime checks is $1.65 each, $386.17 over 300 is $1.29 each. Pingdom publishes bundle prices, not a rate per uptime check.
How the bundles are put together
Pingdom's pricing page is a calculator. A buyer picks a bundle — the one that covers fifty monitors is 50 uptime checks, 10 advanced checks and 200 SMS — and the calculator prints a single price for the whole package. Uptime checks carry no separate line item, so the advanced checks and the SMS are part of what the bundle costs.
Fettle prices a plan by monitor count: the rung you pick is the number of monitors it carries. Alongside them a paid plan brings 5 types of notification channel (email, Telegram, webhook, Slack, Discord), 1 / 3 / 10 status pages across Plus / Pro / Max, and a REST API rate-limited at 30 to 300 requests per minute by tier.
What annual billing takes off
Pingdom's fifty-check bundle is $78 a month billed monthly, and $858 for a year billed annually. That is eleven months' price for twelve months of service: a discount of 8.3%.
Fettle Plus is $9 a month, or $7 a month when billed for the year.
Questions
- What do 50 monitors cost on Pingdom?
- $71.50 a month billed annually, which is $858 for the year. That price buys a bundle of 50 uptime checks, 10 advanced checks and 200 SMS. The same 50 monitors on Fettle Plus are $7 a month billed yearly.
- Does Pingdom check more often than once a minute?
- No. On Pingdom's Add Uptime Check screen the check-interval slider stops at one minute — captured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not stated on their pricing page. Fettle Max checks every 30 seconds.
- How many locations does a Pingdom check run from?
- One — captured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not stated on their pricing page. The Test from control on an uptime check is a set of radio buttons over four location groups: North America, Europe, Asia Pacific and Latin America. A Fettle monitor is checked from every region you selected, every interval.
Prices verified on 2026-08-25 against Pingdom's public pricing page. Vendors change prices; check theirs before deciding — Pingdom pricing.
Try Fettle free
The free plan monitors 20 endpoints from 2 regions and emails you when one breaks — no card. See pricing for the paid intervals, or compare every tool side by side.