---
title: "Pingdom alternatives: cheaper tools with heartbeats · Fettle"
description: "Pingdom alternatives that price 50 monitors below its bundle and print their heartbeat support, compared on interval, check model and status pages."
url: "https://fettle.sh/alternatives/pingdom"
---

/ alternatives / pingdom

# Cheaper Pingdom alternatives for uptime monitoring, with heartbeats

Pingdom sells uptime checks in bundles: fifty of them come with 10 advanced checks and 200 SMS for $71.50 a month billed annually. Its pricing page does not say a word about heartbeat or cron checks, so a team with scheduled jobs to watch has no figure to plan around. Every tool below prices fifty monitors under that bundle and states on its own page how it watches a job that has to report in. None of them copies the bundle exactly, though: weigh the advanced checks and the SMS against what you would use.

We make Fettle, so it is not ranked here: it has its own block after the list. Every other entry is sourced to the vendor's own pages, as our [methodology](https://fettle.sh/methodology) describes.

Updated 2026-10-31

Competitor figures checked between 2026-08-25 and 2026-10-31 against each vendor's own pages.

[Start free](https://fettle.sh/register)

Free plan: 20 monitors every 3 minutes from 1 region. No card.

## Why people look for Pingdom alternatives

### One bundle, one price

Fifty checks cost $71.50 a month, billed annually: a bundle of 50 uptime checks, 10 advanced checks and 200 SMS, $858/yr; $78 billed monthly. If you need neither the advanced checks nor the SMS, they are still in the price.

Source: [pingdom.com/pricing](https://www.pingdom.com/pricing/), checked 2026-08-25.

### Heartbeats have no line on the pricing page

Heartbeat monitoring: not published. The pricing page lists uptime checks, advanced checks and SMS, and a backup job or a queue worker that should check in on a schedule is not among them. Ask Pingdom before you count on it.

Source: [pingdom.com/pricing](https://www.pingdom.com/pricing/), checked 2026-08-25.

### Some answers are not printed

Status pages are included, but the number is not stated. An API exists, and the pricing page's own footer links Pingdom's API documentation; which plans include it is not printed. On history, no retention figure is printed for Synthetic Monitoring; the 13 months on the same page belongs to Real User Monitoring.

Source: [pingdom.com/pricing](https://www.pingdom.com/pricing/), checked 2026-08-25.

## What Pingdom does well

Pingdom's bundle carries more than uptime checks: 10 advanced checks (transaction or page-speed checks) and 200 SMS sit inside the same price, and real-user monitoring can be added to the same account. If those are the parts you use, the bundle can be the better buy, and none of the tools below matches all of it.

The full figure-by-figure write-up is [Fettle vs Pingdom](https://fettle.sh/vs/pingdom).

## The alternatives

1. ### 1. UptimeRobot

   Best for: Fifty monitors at 60 seconds, heartbeats from Solo

   UptimeRobot's Solo plan takes fifty monitors to $19 a month billed annually, or $22 month to month, with a check every 60 seconds. Heartbeat monitoring starts on Solo too, and the status pages per plan are printed as 1 / 3 / 100 / unlimited (Free / Solo / Team / Scale). If the budget is zero, the Free plan still watches 50 monitors every 5 minutes, without heartbeats. The weak spot is confirmation: there is no quorum: one region's failed and retried check marks the monitor down.

   Source: [uptimerobot.com/pricing](https://uptimerobot.com/pricing/), [uptimerobot.com/pricing.md](https://uptimerobot.com/pricing.md), [help.uptimerobot.com/en/articles/11358522-understanding-uptimerobot-locations-and-multi-location-feature](https://help.uptimerobot.com/en/articles/11358522-understanding-uptimerobot-locations-and-multi-location-feature), checked 2026-10-25.

   [Fettle vs UptimeRobot](https://fettle.sh/vs/uptimerobot)

2. ### 2. Hyperping

   Best for: 30-second checks and heartbeats in the same plan

   Hyperping's Essentials plan costs $24 a month billed yearly for 50 monitors, checked every 30 seconds, with heartbeat checks listed on the same plan. When a check fails, the other regions you picked check again before anyone is alerted, out of a pool of 18. It also publishes an MCP server for paid plans. What it does not print is how long uptime history is kept, so ask before you move a year of reports over.

   Source: [hyperping.com/pricing](https://hyperping.com/pricing), [hyperping.com/docs/monitoring/datacenter-regions](https://hyperping.com/docs/monitoring/datacenter-regions), [hyperping.com/docs/mcp](https://hyperping.com/docs/mcp), checked 2026-10-25.

   [Fettle vs Hyperping](https://fettle.sh/vs/hyperping)

3. ### 3. Checkly

   Best for: Cron checks beside monitoring as code

   Checkly's Starter plan costs $24 a month billed annually; it runs 50 monitors at 60 seconds and includes cron and heartbeat checks. Monitors can live in your repository and ship with its CLI, and its pricing page lists an MCP integration beside it. Status pages cost extra, an add-on at $9/mo: 25 services, 500 subscribers. History on Starter is short, 7 days raw, 30 days aggregated, which matters if you report uptime over a year.

   Source: [checklyhq.com/pricing](https://www.checklyhq.com/pricing/), [checklyhq.com/docs/api-reference/overview](https://www.checklyhq.com/docs/api-reference/overview/), checked 2026-10-25.

4. ### 4. Uptime.com

   Best for: Every selected location on every check

   Uptime.com runs each check from every location you select, and its Sensitivity setting decides how many of them must fail before the check counts as down. Its 50-check tier is $30 a month billed yearly, heartbeat checks are included, and history is kept for 24 months. The interval is the catch: one minute is the floor on every tier. A status page is a second purchase, from $10/mo for 1 page and 250 subscribers.

   Source: [support.uptime.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000830260-Extended-Check-Options](https://support.uptime.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000830260-Extended-Check-Options), [uptime.com/pricing](https://uptime.com/pricing), [support.uptime.com/hc/en-us/articles/115002533889-Overview-of-Checks](https://support.uptime.com/hc/en-us/articles/115002533889-Overview-of-Checks), checked 2026-10-25.

5. ### 5. Better Stack

   Best for: Several locations agreeing before an incident

   Better Stack waits for agreement: every monitor is checked from at least 4 locations, and an incident opens only after the check fails from at least 3 of them. Fifty monitors come to $50 a month billed annually, and 10 heartbeats are included, each further ten at $17/mo. Its entry licence already runs 30-second checks, $29 a month billed annually for 10 monitors. The bill is per person on call, though: a second responder adds another $29, and each status page past the first is $12/mo.

   Source: [betterstack.com/docs/uptime/locations-and-regions](https://betterstack.com/docs/uptime/locations-and-regions/), [betterstack.com/pricing](https://betterstack.com/pricing), checked 2026-10-25.

   [Fettle vs Better Stack](https://fettle.sh/vs/better-stack)

6. ### 6. Site24x7

   Best for: Two years of history and a ping URL per heartbeat

   Site24x7's Web Uptime plan keeps 2 years of history, and each heartbeat monitor gets its own ping URL. It is $9/mo paid annually for 25 sites, and fifty monitors need an add-on printed only as a monthly rate, which brings the total to about $27. The trade-offs: the API is not on Web Uptime, and only one location is polled at the configured frequency; if a site looks unavailable from it, further checks run from other locations.

   Source: [site24x7.com/site24x7-pricing.html](https://www.site24x7.com/site24x7-pricing.html), checked 2026-10-25.

7. ### 7. Uptime Kuma

   Best for: Free software, if you run the server

   Uptime Kuma has no plan to buy: it is MIT-licensed software you install yourself, and its Push monitor type covers the heartbeat case. It ships 90+ notification services and multiple status pages, and its README lists checks every 20 seconds. What you take on is the server: every check comes from that one machine, it needs updates and backups, and when it goes down your alerts go down with it.

   Source: [github.com/louislam/uptime-kuma](https://github.com/louislam/uptime-kuma), [github.com/louislam/uptime-kuma/blob/2.5.8/server/monitor-types/globalping.js](https://github.com/louislam/uptime-kuma/blob/2.5.8/server/monitor-types/globalping.js), checked 2026-10-31.

   [Fettle vs Uptime Kuma: hosted vs self-hosted](https://fettle.sh/vs/uptime-kuma)

We make this one · not ranked

### Where Fettle fits

Best for: Fifty monitors and their heartbeats at one plan price

On Fettle, Plus covers 50 monitors for $7.50 a month billed yearly, or $9 month to month, and heartbeats are part of every plan, the free one included: 3 there, then 20 / 50 / 150 on Plus, Pro and Max. A job can also ping a start or a failure, so one that catches its own error alerts at once instead of waiting out its grace period. A paid monitor is checked from each of its regions every interval, and an alert goes out only when all of them fail, on as many checks in a row as the monitor asks for; a failure in some regions shows as degraded and pages no one. Max, $32.50 a month billed yearly, checks up to 50 monitors every 30 seconds, and the API and MCP server are on every plan, including free, so Claude, Codex or another MCP client can create the monitors and heartbeats for you. The trade-offs: checks come from 3 regions (USA, Europe and Asia), and there are no transaction checks, page-speed checks or real-user monitoring to stand in for Pingdom's.

Source: [Fettle pricing](https://fettle.sh/pricing). Why it sits apart: [how we compare tools](https://fettle.sh/methodology).

## Side by side

Two Fettle plans, Pingdom, and every tool on the list that has a full column in our comparison data. Every competitor cell is from the vendor's own pricing page or documentation.

Scroll the table to see every tool and column.

| Tool         | 50 monitors, $/mo billed yearly                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               | Shortest interval on that plan                                                                                                                         | Cheapest plan with 30-second checks                                                                                          | Check model                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            | Status pages                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              | Heartbeat / cron monitoring                                                                                                     | REST API                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   |
| ------------ | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Fettle Plus  | $7.50 Plus, $90 billed yearly — 50 monitors                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   | 60 seconds                                                                                                                                             | $32.50 on Max                                                                                                                | Fan-out every selected region checks the monitor every interval                                                                                                                                                                                        | 1                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         | 20                                                                                                                              | On every plan, including free 30 to 300 requests per minute by tier                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        |
| Fettle Max   | $32.50 $390 billed yearly — includes 300 monitors                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             | 30 seconds on up to 50 monitors; 60 seconds on the rest                                                                                                | This plan                                                                                                                    | Fan-out every selected region checks the monitor every interval                                                                                                                                                                                        | 10                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        | 150                                                                                                                             | On every plan, including free 30 to 300 requests per minute by tier                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        |
| Pingdom      | $71.50 billed annually: a bundle of 50 uptime checks, 10 advanced checks and 200 SMS, $858/yr; $78 billed monthly                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             | 1 minute the check-interval slider does not go below one minute Captured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site.                    | Not offered no plan checks more often than once a minute Captured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site. | One location per check the Test from control is a set of radio buttons, not checkboxes Captured inside Pingdom on 2026-08-25, not published on their site.                                                                                             | Included the number is not stated                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         | Not published                                                                                                                   | Yes the pricing page's own footer links Pingdom's API documentation; which plans include it is not printed                                                                                                                                                                                                                 |
| UptimeRobot  | $0 on Free, $19 on Solo the Free plan covers 50 monitors at a 5-minute interval; Solo's 50-monitor step, reached with the Monitor tier toggle, is $19/mo billed annually and $22 billed monthly, and checks every 60 seconds                                                                                                                                                  | 60 seconds on Solo; the Free plan checks every 5 minutes, and Scale reaches a 15-second floor at $65/mo billed annually ($77 monthly) for 200 monitors | Team, $35 100 monitors, billed annually; $41 billed monthly                                                                  | Rotation each check runs from one region, and checks cycle through the selected regions in order; a confirmation re-check stays in that same region                                                                                                    | 1 / 3 / 100 / unlimited Free / Solo / Team / Scale                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        | On paid plans Free excludes heartbeat monitoring; it starts on Solo, and no per-plan cap is printed                             | On every plan, including Free the platform API that manages monitors and incidents; API monitoring, a monitor type, is a separate feature that starts on Solo. They also publish an MCP server, in their top navigation, whose write actions create, update, pause and resume monitors; which plans carry it is not stated |
| Hyperping    | $24 Essentials, billed yearly, which covers 50 monitors; $29 billed monthly                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   | 30 seconds on Essentials; Business goes to 20 seconds                                                                                                  | Essentials, $24 50 monitors, billed yearly                                                                                   | Rotation with confirmation checks rotate through the selected regions one region at a time per minute, and a failure is immediately double-checked from the other selected regions                                                                     | 1 on Essentials; the grid is 1 / 1 / 3 / 10 across Free, Essentials, Pro and Business                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     | Yes                                                                                                                             | On every paid plan plus a first-party MCP server, listed on Essentials, Pro and Business but not Free, and documented as 49 tools: 28 read and 21 write. The write tools create, update, pause and resume monitors and manage outages, status pages and maintenance; delete\_monitor is deliberately not exposed           |
| Checkly      | $24 Starter, billed annually, which covers 50 monitors; a further 25 cost $8                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  | 60 seconds on Starter; Hobby is 2 minutes, Team 30 seconds and Enterprise 1 second                                                                     | Team, $64 75 monitors, billed annually                                                                                       | Rotation (round robin) uptime monitors run round robin, one selected location per scheduled run, on Hobby, Starter and Team; parallel scheduling for uptime monitors is listed for Enterprise only                                                     | Add-on at $9/mo: 25 services, 500 subscribers on Starter, billed annually; the add-on is $30/mo on Team                                                                                                                                                                                                                   | Yes cron and heartbeat checks                                                                                                   | Yes a public REST API to manage monitoring resources, documented in their API reference                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    |
| Uptime.com   | $30 the 50-check tier, billed yearly at $360, or $38/mo billed monthly. Their pricing page shows a calculator rather than a table, so the figure is read from the tier table the calculator itself uses, which ships inline in the page source                                                                                                                                | 60 seconds one minute is the floor on every tier; HTTP(S) checks run from 1 to 60 minutes                                                              | Not offered their documentation puts the minimum check frequency at one minute                                               | Fan-out with a Sensitivity threshold at each interval the check runs from every location selected; a Sensitivity threshold sets how many of them must fail for the check to count as down, and they recommend monitoring from at least three locations | From $10/mo for 1 page and 250 subscribers $120/yr billed annually, the same basis as the price column; $13/mo billed monthly. A separate purchase from monitoring, on a ladder running to 100 pages and 150,000 subscribers. Like the monitoring prices, the figures come from the tier table in the pricing page source | Yes                                                                                                                             | Yes                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        |
| Better Stack | $50 billed annually: $29 per responder licence, which carries 10 monitors, plus $21 for a pack of 50 more; a second responder adds another $29, and the monthly-billed rates are $34 and $25                                                                                                                                                                                  | 30 seconds published as the check-frequency ceiling; the page names no uptime tiers                                                                    | $29 one responder licence, billed annually, which covers 10 monitors; $34 billed monthly                                     | Fan-out with consensus every monitor is checked from at least 4 locations, and an incident opens only after the check fails from at least 3 of them                                                                                                    | 1 included, $12/mo for each further one                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   | 10 included, $17/mo per pack of 10                                                                                              | Yes                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        |
| Site24x7     | Not independently verified Not independently verified — we found $27 — a sum of two published figures, not a published price: Web Uptime is $9/mo paid annually and covers 25 sites, and the “50 Uptime monitors $18” add-on is printed only under “Rates per month”. No annual rate is given for it, so an annual buyer may well pay less than $27; confirm before deciding. | 60 seconds on Web Uptime                                                                                                                               | Enterprise Plus Web, $899 2500 sites, paid annually; $999 billed monthly                                                     | One primary location, plus rechecks only one location is polled at the configured frequency; if a site looks unavailable from it, further checks run from other locations                                                                              | 3 on Web Uptime, 10 on Web Performance                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    | Yes each heartbeat monitor gets its own ping URL; the row sits on their infrastructure line, not in the Website Monitoring grid | Not on Web Uptime their API access row is blank for Web Uptime, the pack at the compared price; Web Performance gets 200 calls per day per monitor and Enterprise Plus Web 300                                                                                                                                             |
| Uptime Kuma  | $0 self-hosted software under the MIT licence, with no monthly or yearly bill from the project; the server it runs on, and keeping that server up, are yours to pay for                                                                                                                                                                                                       | 20 seconds the shortest check interval the project's README lists                                                                                      | $0 an interval is a setting, not a plan; the extra load lands on your own server                                             | One server every check runs from the machine Uptime Kuma is installed on; its Globalping monitor type hands a check to one community probe at a location you pick instead                                                                              | Multiple each mappable to its own domain, per the README                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  | Push monitors a monitor type the README lists, for a job that reports in on its own                                             | Internal only monitors are managed over the Socket.io connection the web app uses, which the project's wiki calls internal and not supported for third-party use; its REST endpoints cover push monitors, badges, Prometheus metrics and status pages                                                                      |

## Questions

- What do 50 monitors cost on the Pingdom alternatives?

  Pingdom's 50-check bundle is $71.50 a month billed annually. On Fettle, 50 monitors are $7.50 a month on Plus, billed yearly. UptimeRobot Solo is $19, Hyperping Essentials $24, Checkly Starter $24, Uptime.com $30 and Better Stack $50, all a month on annual billing. Site24x7's Web Uptime pack is $9/mo paid annually for 25 sites, and an add-on priced only by the month takes it to fifty, about $27 in all. Uptime Kuma costs nothing to license and runs on a server you pay for.

- Does Pingdom monitor cron jobs or heartbeats?

  Pingdom's pricing page does not mention heartbeat or cron checks, so this comparison records them as not published rather than missing. Fettle, Hyperping, Checkly, Uptime.com, Better Stack and Site24x7 list heartbeat checks, UptimeRobot includes them from Solo, and Uptime Kuma has Push monitors for the same job.

- Which Pingdom alternatives check every 30 seconds?

  Pingdom's check-interval slider stopped at one minute when we read it inside their product on 2026-08-25. Hyperping Essentials checks 50 monitors every 30 seconds for $24 a month billed yearly, and Better Stack's entry licence does it for $29. Fettle Max, $32.50 a month billed yearly, checks up to 50 monitors every 30 seconds, and UptimeRobot's Team plan does it for $35 a month billed annually. On Uptime Kuma the interval is a setting on your own server.

## Sources

Prices and releases change without notice. Check each vendor's own page before deciding.

- [Pingdom pricing](https://www.pingdom.com/pricing/), checked 2026-08-25. Our 2026-10-25 re-check could not re-read Pingdom's column in full, so it keeps its earlier date.
- [UptimeRobot pricing](https://uptimerobot.com/pricing/), checked 2026-10-25. UptimeRobot's prices here are in US dollars, as its pricing page showed them to us; it shows other currencies depending on the visitor's location.
- [Hyperping pricing](https://hyperping.com/pricing), checked 2026-10-25
- [Checkly pricing](https://www.checklyhq.com/pricing/), checked 2026-10-25
- [Uptime.com pricing](https://uptime.com/pricing), checked 2026-10-25
- [Better Stack pricing](https://betterstack.com/pricing), checked 2026-10-25
- [Site24x7 pricing](https://www.site24x7.com/site24x7-pricing.html), checked 2026-10-25
- [Uptime Kuma README](https://github.com/louislam/uptime-kuma), checked 2026-10-31

## Compare

- [Fettle vs Pingdom Pingdom sells uptime checks in bundles, not per-monitor tiers. Here is what 50 monitors cost on each service, and where each of the two is the better fit.](https://fettle.sh/vs/pingdom)
- [Fettle vs UptimeRobot UptimeRobot prices by monitor count across four plans, Free through Scale. Here is how the two ladders compare on density, regions, and history.](https://fettle.sh/vs/uptimerobot)
- [Fettle vs Hyperping Hyperping beats Fettle on price at 30-second checks. Here is that trade, plus where Fettle's fan-out check model, MCP server and REST API pull ahead.](https://fettle.sh/vs/hyperping)
- [Fettle vs Better Stack Better Stack prices per responder licence and bundles logs, traces and on-call into one product. Here is how the two ladders and check models compare.](https://fettle.sh/vs/better-stack)
- [Fettle vs Uptime Kuma: hosted vs self-hosted Uptime Kuma is free software you host; Fettle is a hosted service. What each costs to run, who watches the monitor, and when Uptime Kuma is the better fit.](https://fettle.sh/vs/uptime-kuma)

## More alternatives

- [The best UptimeRobot alternatives for uptime monitoring UptimeRobot alternatives for uptime monitoring, compared on price, check interval, check model, heartbeats and API, with a source for every figure.](https://fettle.sh/alternatives/uptimerobot)
- [The best Better Stack alternatives for uptime monitoring Better Stack alternatives for uptime monitoring, compared on price for 50 monitors, check interval, check model, heartbeats and status pages, all sourced.](https://fettle.sh/alternatives/better-stack)

## From the blog

- [Best uptime monitoring tools for developers (2026) Eleven uptime monitoring tools, Uptime Kuma to Datadog, one category each, plus Fettle, unranked. Every figure links to its pricing page, docs or README.](https://fettle.sh/blog/best-uptime-monitoring-tools-developers)

## Try Fettle free

The free plan monitors 20 endpoints every 3 minutes from 1 region and emails you when one breaks. No card needed. See [pricing](https://fettle.sh/pricing) for the paid intervals, the [MCP server](https://fettle.sh/mcp) for agents, or compare [every tool side by side](https://fettle.sh/vs).

[Start free](https://fettle.sh/register)
